Letter Writing Campaign – Step by Step

We are asking all ACTA members and their teams to embark on our 3rd email campaign and URGENTLY write to your Federal MP with copy to:

  • The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada
  • Hon. Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance,
  • Hon. Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport,
  • Hon. Mélanie Joly, Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages,
  • Members of the COVID-19 Cabinet Committee, (see the Members below), and
  • Your Provincial MPP/MLA

to raise awareness that travel agents have been hard hit by the moratorium on travel, we will have a much slower recovery and we are asking for sector specific assistance for travel agencies and travel agents. In order to accomplish this we ask that you

  1. Download the letter template by clicking here

  2. Add your name and the company you represent in the signature of the letter

  3. Locate the contact information for Federal MP's in your riding, the COVID-19 Parliament Committee members and the Prime Minister. The resources below will help you accomplish this.

  4. Email letter to your Federal MP, the COVID-19 Parliament Committee members, the Prime Minister AND your Provincial MPP/MLA and copy actaadvocacy@acta.ca. Remember to fill the subject line and make it relevant. For example:

    "COVID 19 – Sector Specific Aid extension for Independent Travel Agents needed – make EI available in Wake of Extended Travel Advisories"
    "COVID 19 – Travel industry needs extended aid and support – Longer Recovery Expected"
    "COVID 19 – Independent Travel Agent Support Needed – make independents eligible for EI coverage"
    "COVID 19 – Travel industry will need sector specific aid to survive – must include independent agents"

  5. Personalize it! Let the Parliament Committee know why this is important to you. Remember, we're in this together.

  6. Should you run into any problems or require any assistance please contact ACTA at memberservices@acta.ca and a representative will be happy to help.


You can find the Federal MP in your riding by clicking here

Your COVID-19 Cabinet Committee Members are listed below:

Deputy Prime Minister

Hon. Chrystia Freeland


President of the Treasury Board

Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos


Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains


Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Hon. Bill Blair


Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages

Hon. Mélanie Joly


Minister of Finance

Hon. Bill Morneau


Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

Hon. Carla Qualtrough


Minister of Health

Hon. Patty Hajdu


To find the Provincial MPP in your riding click on the province in which you reside:

BC Click here ON Click here PEI Click here NU Click here
AB Click here PQ Click here NFLD  here
SK Click here NB Click here YK Click here
MB Click here NS Click here NT Click here

Should you run into any problems or require any assistance please contact ACTA at memberservices@acta.ca and a representative will be happy to help.