Telephone Campaign - Suggested Phone Call Script

ACTA is asking members and Travel Agents to call their local MP!  Here is a suggested phone call script. Please take time to make the call and send your letters urgently.  Also please try to ask for a MEETING with your MP.  We will need to continue to lobby for support for our industry. Call today!

  • I'm calling as a constituent to ask you to make all of the available aid programs available to travel agencies and travel agents until March 31, 2021.
  • Across Canada, there are 14,000 travel agency businesses and 24,000 travel agents, who provide a valuable service to Canadians, and improve the competitiveness of travel distribution in Canada. A significant number of Travel Agents are women entrepreneurs, operating as independent contractors.
  • We are a critical component to the Canadian Travel, Tourism and Hospitality ecosystem that employ 1.8 Million people and contributes $102 Billion to our Economy.
  • Due to government travel advisories, border closures and stay at home orders, we are not getting any new bookings and it is estimated this will continue well into 2021. Once bookings start, it will still be many months before travel agents actually receive revenue.
  • Some travel agencies have already closed their doors. Many travel agents will have no source of income for many months to come until restrictions are lifted and people feel safe to travel again.
  • We urgently need the government to continue to support our industry with sector-specific support until March 31, 2021: Wage Subsidy at 75%; Rent Subsidy where tenant has direct access; CERB transition to adapted EI Program and the new Canada Recovery Benefit for self-employed travel agents; loans, forgivable loans and grants; and tax relief.
  • We strongly urge the government to work with ACTA and other key travel industry stakeholders to develop clear criteria for safely re-opening borders.
  • Please help travel agents and travel agencies. We will be one of the last industries to recover from this crisis… but we are worth investing in! Canadians will need travel agents to help them with new protocols to navigate the globe when it is safe to travel again.

To find the Provincial MPP in your riding click on the province in which you reside:

BC Click here ON Click here PEI Click here NU Click here
AB Click here PQ Click here NFLD  here
SK Click here NB Click here YK Click here
MB Click here NS Click here NT Click here


Your COVID-19 Cabinet Committee Members are listed below:

Deputy Prime Minister

Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.ca

President of the Treasury Board

Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos

Jean-Yves.Duclos@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains

Navdeep.Bains@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Hon. Bill Blair

Bill.Blair@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages

Hon. Mélanie Joly

Melanie.Joly@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Finance

Hon. Bill Morneau

Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

Hon. Carla Qualtrough

Carla.Qualtrough@parl.gc.ca

Minister of Health

Hon. Patty Hajdu

Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca


Prime Minister Trudeau: Justin.Trudeau@parl.gc.ca 

Should you run into any problems or require any assistance please contact ACTA at memberservices@acta.ca and a representative will be happy to help.